Lover of the Light

And in the middle of the night I may watch you go.
There’ll be no value in the strength of walls that I have grown. There’ll be no comfort in the shade of the shadows thrown,
But I’d be yours if you’d be mine.

Stretch out my life and pick the seams out.
Take what you like, but close my ears and eyes.
Watch me stumble over and over.

I had done wrong. You build your tower,
But call me home and I will build a throne
And wash my eyes out never again.

But love the one you hold, and I’ll be your goal
To have and to hold, a lover of the light.

With skin too tight and eyes like marbles,
You spin me high, so watch me as I glide
Before I tumble homeward, homeward

I know I tried. I was not stable
And flawed by pride. I miss my sanguine eyes.
So hold my hands up — breathe in and breathe out.

You may not trust the promises of the change I’ll show,
But I’d be yours if you’d be mine.

– Lover of the Light by Mumford and Sons

This is poetry.

I’d like to point out a cool theme that recurs through most Mumford songs, but especially here. The song is about two people at once: God, and Marcus Mumford’s beloved. When you listen to all their songs together, it becomes clear that (a) they are very Christian, and God is present in almost every song, and (b) they are also love songs to a real woman.

So as much as I love John of the Cross’ Dark Night of the Soul (I mean, really love it), Mumford and Sons does something more for me. In Dark Night of the Soul, the beloved is God. In Mumford, the beloved is both God and a woman. They are not mutually exclusive, but actually complimentary. The lyrics switch so often between God and the woman that sometimes the same lyric refers to both.

Just an observation.

Leave a Reply

