Peter, ye gutsie basterd

Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure… than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much, because they live in a gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat.

– Teddy Roosevelt

The beautiful thing about courage is it has to be divine. Look at St. Peter, the man who denied Jesus, the man who freaked out when he tried to walk on water, the man who never once had the guts to trust Jesus, even after loaves and fishes began to multiply like Catholic babies. In Acts 1, this man walked up to a lame beggar, looked in his eyes, and then said to him:

Silver or gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk (Acts 3:6).

 

Take a moment to meditate on the gutsyness of these words.

Keep meditating.

Keeeeeeeeep….. Okay, good enough. I’m sure you still don’t realize how courageous those words were.

After Peter said these words, the lame beggar was healed. But… imagine the terror he must have felt before he said them. There he was, walking along and minding his own business, when that still small voice of the Spirit told him “stretch out your hand and tell the beggar to be healed in My Name.”

“Um… and how do I know this isn’t just my imagination?”

“It’s not. Don’t you trust me?”

“Yeah… assuming this is actually your Spirit, Lord, and not my imagination.”

“Peter…”

“Yeah!?”

“Heal him.”

And then Peter did one of the gutsiest things in the Bible: he told the beggar he was healed. What if the beggar hadn’t been healed? What if nothing happened? What if the name of Christ did nothing? What if it wasn’t God’s will for the beggar to be healed? All these fears must have been killing Peter, and yet he followed the Lord’s command.

Silver or gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk (Acts 3:6).

Ladies and gentlemen, that’s gutsy. That’s daring at its finest. Peter, I salute thee.

Leave a Reply

